Review Blind Seduction by Debra Hyde

by Keira G on May 20, 2009 · 10 comments

in 0.5 Stars, Book Review, Contemporary, Erotica, G-I, United States of America

bookreview

I’m going to start off and say that this was a Did Not Finish for me. If it was a print book I would have thrown it at the wall. My biggest problem is the heroine. I just don’t get her. I can’t wrap my mind around a person willing to be that submissive to somebody else especially when humiliation and degradation is involved. The heroine infuriated me to the point where I was ready to grab all the reading material I could find on feminism and start up a local chapter.

As for the sexual content, I was warned by the author, but still I wasn’t prepared. I like to think I’m fairly open-minded when it comes to BDSM and the whole kinky sex scene but I draw the line at urination (which is mentioned as something the couple did in the past). Additionally as a heterosexual woman I was not at all interested in reading about the heroine’s submission under a woman (not once but at least twice with hints of future contact with Dom Blade) because her husband wanted to see it done. All in all the content wasn’t even close to be erotic for me.

Warning: STRONG BDSM, spanking, rope bondage, group sex w/ a single female, F/F & M/F scenes, public sex, voyeurism, domination, submission, side characters telling tales of sex parties, feasts, a girl who is and just wants to be Cunt the dog, etc.

The blurb on the site makes you think you’re getting into a fun sexy story about a married couple looking to explore their sexual horizons. I thought I was in for "Leslie has no clue about the BDSM, Phillip her husband wants to try it out," but oh no-no…. not even close. Leslie and Phillip have been doing lots of BDSM and Leslie isn’t shocked she’s trained for it.

Meanwhile, readers get to enjoy a creepy pervert called Vincent. He’s strongly attracted to Leslie’s innocence as it were and wants to truly break her in all the way. He’s basically a stalker, identifiable to blinded (by a blindfold) Leslie by rank smell. I’m sure this comes to a head later but I couldn’t make myself read any further.

Rating: 0.5 Stars

Buy: Blind Seduction

Leave a Comment

{ 10 comments… read them below or add one }

1 Meghan May 20, 2009 at 5:35 AM

This type of book is exactly why I don’t read erotica. Honestly, some stuff just creeps me out, like the urinating. I like my sex in romance to be sexy but also boring in that I want one girl, one guy, nothing gross or that I wouldn’t do! I’m not a fan of the super submissive heroine either, not when it comes to personality or sex, honestly.

Reply

2 Jill D. May 20, 2009 at 6:52 AM

Well, I am sorry to hear that you didn’t like that book. But hey, thanks for taking one for the team. Now, I know what to expect if I should ever try to read it. Most likely I won’t though :) Doesn’t sound like my cup of tea.

Reply

3 Keira May 20, 2009 at 10:13 AM

Meghan — Not all erotica is bad. I would never recommend the Beauty trilogy by Anne Rice, but a lot of people love it. Erotica I feel is a tougher genre to review b/c what I can’t stand someone else might think is their cup of tea, to borrow Jill’s phrase. I do have several 4-5 star erotica reviews here. See if any sound good to you.

Jill — Haha. Thanks. I was really looking forward to reading it, break out and get a little more steam. Next one though!

Reply

4 Isabel Roman May 20, 2009 at 10:46 AM

There are differet parts to erotica, Meghan. Just as there are different levels of romances–steamy to innocent–there are levels to erotica. Unfortunately, when someone sees that label they immediately have a strong reaction to the word, positive or negative.

That kind of submission might not be to your liking, but don’t let one label (erotica) turn you off to others. You might find something you love, with a single couple!

Reply

5 Lisa Lane May 22, 2009 at 5:07 PM

I have not read the work in question. With that in mind:

Just like with all genres, there is good erotica and there is bad erotica. Genres like BDSM turn some people on and offend others, but that should not reflect one’s opinions on erotica as a whole. The two are not synonymous. Moreover, both can be done artfully and tastefully.

Reply

6 John Warren May 23, 2009 at 5:53 PM

I thought a basic rule for reviewers was to read the whole book? This is particularly true for erotica. Even a rock-rimmed conservative like Justice Burger agreed with that. (Miller v. California, 413 U.S. 15 (1973)

After all, at first, I thought the grape jam tasted fishy. Now I know it’s caviar. If, like you, I’d stopped at a first taste, I’d have missed a wonderful new flavor.

Reply

7 Keira May 23, 2009 at 8:40 PM

Hi John, I do try to finish all the books I pick up, but there are some cases, including this one, that I simply can not finish. Book reviewers online call it a DNF or Did Not Finish. I make a note of that to readers, so they can draw their own conclusions. Feel free to disregard my review completely. I am one review, one opinion. This review is not on trial and I’m not a supreme court justice. I did not stop reading in the first chapter I got well into the book, more than halfway, and the book did not get better. I defend erotic romance and straight up erotica. The novel for me was simply not my comfortable grape jam or a new delicious caviar. I wish I could say otherwise, but I can’t.

Reply

8 Mouth May 24, 2009 at 6:52 AM

For reference, fiction with a BDSM tint where “Leslie has no clue about the BDSM, Phillip her husband wants to try it out” are called “fluff” by folks who really are into BDSM.

The D/s (Dominance and submission) you’re describing is considered intensely erotic to most practitioners of BDSM. Without that element, many readers who actually like the activities you so quickly turned your nose up at would find the book lackluster and unrealistic. It wouldn’t make sense to us that a submissive would engage in such heavy humiliation without the intense emotional bond that Total Power Exchange provides.

Overall, my recommendation would be to adjust your definition of “open-minded”; lots of people like things you’re not going to like or understand – that doesn’t mean it’s not a valid form self-expression and truly a turn-on for them. It’s disappointing that your review is not on the ability of the writer or the strength of the characters, but on the content (which are really things people do, by the way). If you’re not able to read a novel without judging and insulting the entire community it describes, perhaps you should stick to naughty housewife porn… you know, “fluff”… and leave the grown-up books to those who can handle them.

Reply

9 Sasha May 24, 2009 at 10:00 AM

The in the “product description” via Ravenous — says, Leslie will be in for surprise — she has no idea.

Therefore, for readers who have “no idea” including the owner of LRP and the reviewer of this book, any disclaimers that were not explicitly stated throw all of the above critic arguments out the window.

I think the reviewer is being “open-minded” as — guess what *gasp* — BDSM is NOT a typical practice by normal standards. That’s why BDSM in itself is considered a fetish.

Go on, I dare you to respond and go on to lecture me on how ‘fetish’ behavior was quite common in ancient Egypt and Rome, but guess what, that was 2,000+ years ago and we living in a contemporary world where the mindset of the reviewer is the same as 80%+ of the current world population, especially in the western world where it is more than that.

Therefore, the reviewer has the right to warn the mass of her target audience against something like this.

As for your, “you should stick to naughty housewife porn…” — “fluff” for the masses means cute, cuddly, stuff-animals and alike. By no means does it describe chains, whips, voyeurism, chastity belts and XXX to the extreme literary porn.

I can also guarantee you that of the “masses” as few, or less than, ten-percent DO know the keywords of BDSM leaving the other 90-some odd percent to appreciate the review above as someone who represents the “masses.”

So really, if you’re so against it — venture to a REAL literary porn site to whine, bitch and moan to your heart’s content.

Keira, I appreciate your review, thank you for warning me, and people like me, about such a novel.

Rest assured, we appreciate your “open mind” that you were willing to read this for us, as something “out of the norm.”

Reply

10 Lauren P. Burka April 23, 2011 at 8:25 PM

“Go on, I dare you to respond and go on to lecture me on how ‘fetish’ behavior was quite common in ancient Egypt and Rome, but guess what, that was 2,000+ years ago and we living in a contemporary world where the mindset of the reviewer is the same as 80%+ of the current world population”

I’m not sure why you’re comparing the non-consensual abuse of women and slaves in the ancient world with “fetish” and BDSM sex between consenting partners. However you may wish it, you cannot wave a magic wand and banish sex that makes you uncomfortable to the distant past.

Saying that eighty percent of the world agrees with you is a literary device called hyperbole, something that we’d expect to find in fiction, not in a reasoned discussion about fiction.

Reply

Previous post:

Next post: