Review: To Tame a Highland Warrior by Karen Marie Moning


By: Sasha Muradali, guest blogger

To Tame a Highland Warrior has to be the second best book in the Karen Marie Moning Highlander series, falling short directly behind The Dark Highlander.

Starting out in 1499, the novel tells the tale of Grimm aka Gavrael McIllioch, the son of a powerful Highland laird and best friend to Hawk, from Beyond the Highland Mist.

Upon finding his mother dead, assuming at the hands of his father, he flees to become one of the most sought after, intelligent and highly capable warriors of his time. However, nothing is ever peaches and daises in a Moning novel, as Grimm carries a deep secret; a secret so important in keeping that he doesn’t quite understand its depth himself.

Loving Grimm since she was a little girl is Jillian St. Clair. Cornered into choosing a husband, preferably Grimm, by her scheming parents, she refuses to take ‘no’ for an answer, no matter how many times Grimm shoos her away.

The beauty of this story, unlike the other six Highlander tales, it that this one solely takes place in the past. There is no time-traveling or shifting so to speak.

Moning finally touches the paranormal side of things, by mixing things up with a Norse legend about a mythical man, an unbeatable beast, with inconceivable power to destroy and rage; a Berserker.

Known to shape shift and become larger, with icy blue eyes and immaculate senses, a Berserker is said to be unstoppable.

The entire first half of the book touches on Grimm’s history, Jillian’s history and their history together. It also illustrates why Grimm doesn’t want to love Jillian, as well as, why Jillian feels the need to stay close to Grimm.

It’s not until the second half of the novel, does the actual adventure start, the mysteries are unwrapped and the impossible becomes rather possible.

To Tame a Highland Warrior is definitely full of surprises; what you think you know about the story may not be the outcome. This is one of the few books in the seven-part series that isn’t predictable and that idea is very refreshing.

Weaving through history and the timeless tale of girl loves boy, boy loves girl but won’t admit it – Moning redeemed herself after the freakish, unhealthy love from Beyond the Highland Mist.

This is really a great read, but only perfect for extended and uninterrupted periods of time because of its nature. I don’t recommend doing what I did and reading it in little spurts whenever you can. Make the time to sit down and enjoy it, it will really keep you on your toes.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Buy: To Tame a Highland Warrior

Author: Guest Blogger

Guest Bloggers featured at Love Romance Passion are romance authors, various industry personnel, and readers just like you!

3 thoughts on “Review: To Tame a Highland Warrior by Karen Marie Moning”

  1. Sasha began reading them out of order and didn’t really notice. I don’t know if she continued to read them out of order once she did or not. I’ll get her answer and check back.

  2. Hi Nicole,

    The author suggests that you read them in order…however, I DO NOT think that you need to and here is why or why not — hopefully this helps answer your question:

    1) The series opens with Hawk and an introduction to the character of Adam Black and the Fae. Adam Black and his people are in every single one of the books except this one with Grimm.

    2) The first book I read was actually the one with Drustan and Gwen as the main characters called “Kiss of the Highlander.” And I enjoyed it enough to want to read the rest.

    3) To be honest, I’m glad I read them out of order and was able to read a better book FIRST, rather than the original first one. I didn’t like the original first book for the most part. And I think had I read it first, I wouldn’t have continued with the series. But that’s just me.

    4) This book, above, the one you started reading, is no.2 in the series I believe and I really enjoyed it, the first half was a very amusing and ‘tension’ type of read.

    5) Read this one first, see how you like it — then read the rest of the series if you choose — and save the original first book for last. In my opinion, this way, you’ll get to read all the good ones…then you can read the first one just for kicks. I mean to each their own…you might actually enjoy the original first one!


Leave a Reply